Summary | Praise | Excerpt | Buy the Book

Praise for 13 Days: The Pythagoras Conspiracy (Lynn Dayton Thriller #1)

(Click here for Book Club Discussion Questions)


“4 stars. Wow...it took me a while to really get sucked into the novel, but once I was hooked and found myself in a comfy couch, I was flipping the pages as fast as possible. I loved the whole plot because I found it to be very unique. The characters were very realistic and I loved how the story is told from both the protagonist and villain's point of view.”

      Tina Chan - - - reviewer, The Book Landers


5 Stars. “I found the book not only entertaining but educational. L.A. Starks made sure the reader understood all the oil refinery terminology... I enjoyed the entire story and liked the tenacity of the main character Lynn! I look forward to reading more books in the future by L. A. Starks.”

      Renee - - - Goodreads


4 Stars. “A series of nifty plot twists and turns confront Ms. Dalton, and we root for her as she struggles to save her company and her family from the oily evil around her. One thing I like in my adventure/thriller stories is detail and a chance to learn more about a subject without having to crack open yet another text book. 13 days lays out detail after detail concerning the oil business that I found very illuminating, making this a very good Goodreads win.”

      Tom Donaghey - - - Goodreads

13 Days is a cross between Vince Flynn and Patricia Cornwell”--reader


Other Books:

Short Stories:


5 Stars.“A riveting thriller with an oil refinery setting... The conspiracy is as thick and opaque as crude oil and L.A. Starks slips the reader through it on skillfully oiled clues and dialogue.”

      Evelyn - - - Goodreads


“There is a lot to like about this thriller... The characters are well developed, the plot twists are interesting, dialogue sharp and well crafted... I want to read more Lynn Dayton stories... If you are into thrillers, you will like 13 Days: The Pythagoras Conspiracy (Lynn Dayton Thriller #1).”

      Beth - - - Pure Textuality


“In 13 DAYS: THE PYTHAGORAS CONSPIRACY we enjoy great fiction while at the same time imagine that the story reveals a few of the many risks inherent in the world of oil refineries or comparable industries. Terrorist risk and Natural Hazard risk must be assessed and mitigated in real life. Well documented thrillers can provide an excellent way to inform the public as well as stakeholders of entities which can suffer great damage when these risks materialize.”

      Alain Bensoussan, Ph.D. - - - Ashbel Smith Chair Professor, International Center for Decision and Risk Analysis, Naveen Jindal School of Management, University of Texas at Dallas


These days, you can't turn on the television or radio without hearing dramatic news about the rise in gas and oil prices. For Preston Hollow writer L.A. Starks, it's the perfect subject for a thriller. “The stakes are huge,” she says. “There's high emotion. It affects everything from the price you pay at the pump, the cost of groceries and getting on a plane.””

      - - - The Preston Hollow Advocate


5 Stars. “13 Days takes readers on a fast paced ride into the world of petroleum. I would describe this book as espionage, thriller, suspense and entertaining. The quality of the plot and character make it difficult to believe this is a debut novel. The characterization is exquisite. The plot is exciting and informative.”

      - - - Readers Favorite


4 Stars. “This thriller is fascinating. It includes loads of technical details about the refining industry, engineering, chemistry, and so forth, as well as a host of characters. The protagonist is interesting and human and female (Yea!). The plot spans two or three continents. It's a fantastic first novel from L. A. Starks, for sure. I read it in a day (we were having an inclement weather day here) and quite enjoyed it. I look forward to reading the next related novel.”

      Amelia - - - A Year of Reading Women


“A gripping yarn of industrial espionage that keeps the reader guessing until the very end... Oil industry readers will relate to some of the red-necked attitudes of the refinery staff and will appreciate the dedication of Lynn Dayton who leads by example and could be anybody's favorite boss... This is an excellent first novel.”

      Roger Herrera - - - Petroleum News


“After reading the first 10 pages, I could not stop... very well written book and could be a case study.”

      Zaki - - - Chemical Engineering World, (one of world's top-ranked engineering blogs)


Rating: Preferred over most other fiction.  “13 Days: The Pythagoras Conspiracy (Lynn Dayton Thriller #1), moves along at a brisk pace ... it is refreshing that Starks selected a group other than the stereotypical Middle Eastern extremists or the US Government to be the puppet master pulling the strings behind the conspiracy.”

      Mysterious Reviews - - - Hidden Staircase Mystery Books


“For those who like tough can-do heroines, pull up a chair: you'll like Lynn Dayton... If you like a fast-paced thriller with lots of technical information and a whole skein of loose threads that have to be knotted up, you'll enjoy this.”

      Karen Treanor - - - New Mystery Reader Magazine


“Starks tells the perfect conspiracy story in this richly, delightful tale of suspense and chills.”

      Mark - - - Book Cove Reviews


Four stars...an explosive debut novel... that keeps you up reading way past your bed time... the plot, characters, and settings are all well thought out and delivered with expertise.”

      R.J. McGill - - - 3Rs Reading Den, Amazon, Boston Globe Book Forum, other online review sites.


“This book is worthy of a careful read, and yet it provides entertainment and food for thought... Rating: 4 Hearts”

      Bob Spear - - - Chief Reviewer, Heartland Reviews


“Four Stars. A reverse femjep.”

      Jack Quick - - - BookReporter.com


“Very realistic. Thankfully, most weeks aren't as intense as these are.”

      CR - - - oil company vice president


“This is a tight, compelling story... Guillard is truly a despicable villain and how he manipulates even Lynn's private life is frightening.”

      - - - wpbookreviews


“This was a very fast-paced book! I couldn't put it down! It is a superb blend of the oil business, current events, and international intrigue. I felt like I was experiencing a front-page news story.”

      Kathy Norderhaug - - - international oil executive


“Thanks for writing such a suspenseful book.”

      Mike Witzgall - - - (ret.) Dallas Police Department SWAT team member


13 Days is a suspense thriller with an engineering twist. With the oil refining industry as a backdrop, Starks weaves a story with lots of turns and subplots to keep you guessing. It's a great read!”

      L. Gros - - - marketing manager, global petrochemical company


“A great thriller, in the tradition of John Grisham and Dick Francis. Full of interesting insights into the energy business, 13 Days features a tightly woven plot and vivid characters.”

      Mike Barron - - - retired energy CFO and senior vice president


13 Days weaves a gripping suspense plot around the very real, and complex operations of oil refining. The attention to detail and factual content is extraordinary, while creating a spellbinding story that we hope could not be real.”

      KS - - - vice president, energy industry consulting firm


“Starks grabs the reader from page one with this well-researched page-turner.”

      Harry Hunsicker - - - Shamus-nominated author of the Hank Oswald series


“Starks' first novel seems to be coming closer to reality and current events than any of us would like to realize.”

      Carine Nadel


“As a mystery enthusiast, I am always looking for something fresh and intelligent. 13 Days: The Pythagoras Conspiracy (Lynn Dayton Thriller #1) is just that: a well-done industrial espionage and terrorism thriller about the global oil industry that along the way provides a fascinating look into the technology, politics, and vulnerabilities of this all-important sector of the world economy.”

      William Rich - - - telecommunications executive


5 Stars. “I very much enjoyed reading this book. I learned a lot about oil and petroleum- about quality issues and the refining process... The author jumps right into the story and takes us along an elaborate plot for a big reveal in the end. It was straightforward and enjoyable.”

      Hennessy A. - - - “Boarder Babe”


“This is an enjoyable and interesting thriller that showcases too well the current and ongoing vulnerability regarding U. S. oil production and processing... Oil production and processing is a highly complex subject and the author draws upon her long career in the industry to write what she knows... The premise works, as do the character situations... the author conveys real world concerns while delivering a good story worth reading.”

      Kevin Tipple - - - Mouth Full of Bullets, Blogger News Network


“This is a great read, fast-paced, good plot twists, entertaining. When I read, even fiction, I like to learn about something. Starks pulled me into the world of the refinery business, its risks, its jargon, painted with character's New Orleans drawls and slithering French accents. I could hear it, smell it, and see it with my eyes. I have been married to a man for 16 years who is a key investor in the natural gas business, but never really understood the workings of a refinery or that hydrogen sulfide could be such an instant, lethal killer. I would read parts of 13 Days to him for verification and he would nod, pleasantly surprised that a fiction book strove to be so accurate... Kudos to Starks on her first book. I hope to see more from her.”

      Julie Hersh - - - reader and author, Struck by Living